G.I.R.L. Takeover!

“I have found my love for Girl Scouts growing more than I thought was possible.”

Every three years, Girl Scouts gather for the National Council Session and Convention to reflect on the progress of the Movement, and chart its future. Chosen by their councils, national delegates come together to celebrate their accomplishments and share lessons, all of which help drive our Movement forward. Together, the spirit of Girl Scouting is upheld and lifelong friendships and memories are made.

More than 20 delegates will represent GSGLA at the National Council Session in Columbus, Ohio next week (Oct. 4-6), including several girls. The delegates will then join thousands of other girls, women, and supporters of the Movement for G.I.R.L. 2017 (Oct. 6-8), the girl-led convention which celebrates the Go-getter, Innovator, Risk-taker, Leader in all of us (and also features some impressive speakers).

The path to Columbus has taken the delegates several months of trainings and meetings to get to this point; and now, we’re ready for the fun to begin! A number of our girl delegates and alternates opened up to us about their experiences getting ready—as well as their expectations for the National Council Session and Convention next week.


2017-09-23-G-0113Julia Medina, Delegate: “Starting out, I was extremely honored to represent the Greater Los Angeles area, but I was not quite sure what to expect. After attending trainings, meeting the other girl and women delegates, and speaking at my local service unit meeting, I have found my love for Girl Scouts growing more than I thought was possible. Learning more about the inner workings of Girl Scouts, not only on a local level, but also on a national level, has enhanced my appreciation for how much this organization has to offer to build girls of courage, confidence, and character. Attending the National Council Session and Convention has been something I knew I had wanted to do sometime in my Girl Scout career. Since this is my last year as an Ambassador, I am more excited than ever to attend. I am so excited to meet girls from all over the United States who share in my love for this amazing organization. I am also excited to be traveling with the other incredible girl delegates to build lifelong memories with them that we will one day tell our own Girl Scout troops about.”

2017-09-23-G-0100Hana Meroth, Delegate: “To get a behind-the-scenes look at how a Girl Scout council functions has truly been an eye-opening experience. After attending three delegate trainings and presenting at service unit meetings, I’ve gained an incredible amount of insight into the effects the Movement has had on our community, and will continue to have for many years to come. I’m so grateful for the countless opportunities that Girl Scouts has presented me with, and I’m honored to be representing my council on a national level. I’m already made lifetime friendships, learned invaluable listening and interaction skills, and I know that there are so many more opportunities that are awaiting me. I can’t wait to be a part of the once-in-a-lifetime experiences (especially the Convention) and am thankful for the impact it has already made on me and the impact yet to come.”

2017-09-23-G-0063Genetha Cleveland, Delegate: “My experience as a Girl Scout delegate has been amazing. It has allowed me to meet other Girl Scouts who have the same hopes and desires that I do, and an opportunity to learn more about Girl Scouts as an organization. Being a delegate has given me a stronger sense of pride about being a Girl Scout. Not only are we sisters to one another, but we are also businesswomen who make a difference. When I first started my delegate experience, I was very nervous about meeting new people and all of the responsibilities of being a delegate; we met over several months and my nerves got better after each meeting. The road to being a delegate has been a learning experience about governance and how organizations and businesses create consensus to continue to move forward. I’m excited for our trip to Columbus, Ohio to see many other Girl Scouts who are just like us: Go-getters, Innovators, Risk-takers, and Leaders!”

2017-09-23-G-0058Joan Schueller, Alternate Delegate: “Going through the process of becoming a delegate has been a valuable experience. I was able to learn about new projects going on within the council and learn the inner workings and the behind-the-scenes side of Girl Scouts. Not only did I learn about proposals to be voted on at the National Council Session, but also how to relay messages to others and learn which sides people take on the proposals. I thoroughly enjoyed making friends and talking to other delegates within the council and indulging myself in the process of becoming a leader. Leadership, confidence in talking to others, and being able to communicate ideas are just a few of the many traits I have further gained through this process. I hope to continue to keep the bonds I’ve made with fellow delegates and carry the traits I’ve learned into all aspects of my life.”


Experience the National Council Session and G.I.R.L. 2017 through our girl delegates’ eyes! Make sure you’re following us on social media for our G.I.R.L. takeover:

Plus, make sure to subscribe to our GSGLA blog so you can receive our updates, including more posts from the girl delegates.

GSGLA CEO Lise Luttgens will also be traveling to the National Council Session and Convention—be sure to follow her on Twitter to get her perspective: https://twitter.com/GSGLA_CEO.

We can’t wait to see you in Columbus, Ohio!

Author: Girl Scouts of Greater Los Angeles

Building girls of courage, confidence, and character, who make the world a better place.

Leave a Reply

