Give the Gift of Caring

“It’s incredible to make an impact on someone’s life, no matter how small or how big.”

When we talk about the Girl Scout Cookie Program, we often mention the 5 Skills gained by girls: goal setting, decision making, money management, people skills, and business ethics. But did you know the cookie program also teaches girls a sixth skill—philanthropy?

Through the Gift of Caring program, Girl Scouts offer customers the opportunity to donate boxes of cookies to military troops overseas and local nonprofit partners. Girls learn about philanthropy, while customers contribute to a very worthy cause (without consuming calories!).

This year, in honor of the 100th year of Girl Scouts selling cookies, we’re aiming to donate 100,000 boxes to Gift of Caring, council-wide. We spoke with 2016’s top Gift of Caring seller, Ambassador Girl Scout Destiny B., to learn more about the program that’s close to her heart.


image3
Destiny is GSGLA’s top Gift of Caring seller.

You sold an impressive amount of boxes last season (1,020) – and they were all for Gift of Caring (GOC)! Why did you decide to do just GOC?
To me, it is the most important part of Girl Scout Cookie selling. It’s incredible to make an impact on someone’s life, no matter how small or how big. Over my entire cookie career, I have sold approximately 18,000 cookies—11,000 for GOC. I have family in the military, so it’s a cause close to my heart.

Why is GOC so important?
Servicemen and women overseas don’t have the opportunity to see or have anything that reminds them of home. Sometimes, they even give the cookies to the innocent children in the country in which they are stationed. GOC can help so many people in so many ways.

What do you love about selling Girl Scout Cookies?
I am able to increase my confidence in talking to new people, and the people I already know. I have sold cookies for 11 years, and each year I learn something new. Selling cookies offers so many opportunities for Girl Scouts to learn about business, social interactions, and confidence.

What’s your favorite memory related to Gift of Caring?
Once, a soldier flew a flag over Iraq in my name. I later received the same flag in the mail. It was one of the most incredible things that anyone had ever done for me. It inspired me to continue with GOC, so that I could make a difference in the lives of other soldiers.

What do you want to do as a career?
Because of my drive to help others, I want to go into the medical field. I volunteer at my local hospital, and am becoming even more passionate about the field. I love having the opportunity to make an impact on someone’s life.

Why do you think girls should participate in the cookie program?
So they can begin to learn skills to help them in the future. By selling cookies, I have grown up to be a confident, smart, and successful young woman, which is what the cookie program is all about. The cookie program empowers young girls to be the best they can be, and even shows them how to set goals and achieve them. By selling cookies, I have definitely learned how to interact with people and feel comfortable while I am doing it.

goc
GSGLA’s new GOC patch for the 2017 season.

What advice do you have for other girls in reaching high GOC goals?
Like any other way of selling cookies, you must be know your cause. When someone is purchasing something from you, they want to make sure that you know what you’re selling. Sometimes people are cautious about giving money to organizations that they don’t know much about. If you can be confident and passionate about GOC, you can definitely reach your goal.


We’re so proud of Destiny’s accomplishments. You, too, can be a Gift of Caring superstar. Remember to offer customers the ninth “cookie” variety—Gift of Caring—and let’s hit that 100,000 goal together!

Author: Girl Scouts of Greater Los Angeles

Building girls of courage, confidence, and character, who make the world a better place.

One thought on “Give the Gift of Caring”

Leave a Reply

