Global Citizens

We all know Girl Scouts make the world a better place—and what better way to learn about the world than by exploring it? Girl Scout Destinations provides girls ages 11 and older opportunities to travel to different countries and states, and engage in awe-inspiring activities: from scuba diving in Panama to exploring ancient sites in India to horseback riding in Colorado. These types of activities not only help girls become better global citizens, they push Girl Scouts out of their comfort zones and prepare them for challenges in their own lives.

It was just this sort of experience that prompted Gold Award Girl Scout Jaclyn B. of Troop 7392 to apply for the Destinations program. (You can learn more about the application process at the end of this post—the summer 2017 deadline is Jan. 31.) She embarked on a trip with fellow Girl Scouts to Italy, and told us all about her experience.


Describe your trip to Italy in a nutshell.
Going on this destination to Italy has been one of the best experiences I have had in my life. I saw amazing architecture, ate amazing food, and met new friends. The people I went with made it more than just another trip. We bonded and that’s the best thing you can get from a group of 16 girls. I still keep in touch with a couple of them.

img_3232

How did you select your Destination?
I chose the EF Tours Italy trip because I have always wanted to go to Italy. When I read the description of what we would be doing, I knew it would be the right choice for me.

Before the trip, how did you feel about the trip? Were you scared? Excited?
When I got accepted to go on this trip I was excited, but as the trip got closer I found myself getting more nervous. For a person who is afraid of flying, I had to take a six-hour flight to Boston to meet up with everyone, then another seven-hour flight to Amsterdam, then a 1.5-hour flight to Italy. It was definitely worth it, though. One thing that really helped was getting to know everyone with group phone calls that Timalee (our chaperone) organized for us. About a week before the trip, I also found out there was another participant who lived in my area. We got in contact and we met up for lunch—realizing that I’d already know someone really calmed my nerves.

What was the most exciting part of your trip?
The whole trip was amazing. The best part of it was probably the cooking class that we had on our second to last day in Rome. It was not only fun, but we also competed against each other.

img_2510

What’s the biggest piece of advice you’d give to girls thinking of applying?
When you get to the essay part, don’t be afraid to show yourself. It really helped me with my college essays because you need to show that you are not afraid to go on this trip, and you are not afraid to try new things. In the words of my English teacher: “You are bragging about yourself; don’t downplay it.”

What impact did the trip have on you?
This trip to Italy was amazing and I know I will never forget it. I can admit I was nervous at first going to an international country with people I didn’t know. But the people were amazing and the trip is something I would do all over again.


We’re so thankful to Jaclyn for sharing her Italy experience with us. If you’re ready to pack your bags for your own life-changing experience, apply for Round 2 of the Destinations program. Remember, GSGLA’s deadline is Jan. 31 for summer 2017 trips.

Author: Girl Scouts of Greater Los Angeles

Building girls of courage, confidence, and character, who make the world a better place.

2 thoughts on “Global Citizens”

  1. I miss you!!! Thanks for sharing. Reading your story reminded me of all the people, places and food we encountered in Italy. I had a lot of fun thanks to you and the rest of the girls!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

